Compound selections

Post all ideas and suggestions for fCraft here
Post Reply
User avatar
Hellenion
Offline
Posts: 220
Joined: October 20th, 2011, 9:20 am
Location: Subnet
Contact:

Compound selections

Post by Hellenion »

It might be nice to be able to do compound selections, instead of a single rectangle.

You'd make several sets of marks after which the requested command is applied to all selected blocks. So with /Cuboid you would make a few rectangles and with /Triangle a number of triangles. The important distinction is that overlapping parts in selections are processed only once by the command.

On the command syntax I have no spectacular ideas yet, though that shouldn't be a reason to reject the idea itself.
Yes I know there are several ways of repeating commands or further specify the affected blocks.

Often, area seems much easier to handle than blocktypes.
A = {x ∈ P(U) | x ∉ x}
Mods:
  1. /Su - Allows players to temporarily become a different rank
  2. /Snap - Like /Line but only draws straight or diagonal lines.
  3. pre-0.630 skip/none block

User avatar
OfficerFlake
Offline
Posts: 25
Joined: May 28th, 2012, 12:03 am

Re: Compound selections

Post by OfficerFlake »

This could be possible with a datalist.

[Area1, Area2, Area3...]

when doing an action.

Do Area1: DoAction;

Do Area2: If position not in Area1: DoAction;

Do Area3: If position not in Area2 or Area1: DoAction;...

Alas, I think the selected area would NOT be a data list atm. Would be a hard change.
=== MeinKraft 24/7 ===
Server Owner & Code Developer

User avatar
fragmer
fCraft Developer
Offline
Posts: 1386
Joined: May 21st, 2011, 10:53 pm

Re: Compound selections

Post by fragmer »

Sounds tricky to do because, well, in fCraft you type in a command first and THEN do a selection.

I guess the first step to implementing this would be to add ability to make a selection BEFORE issuing a command, then a way to persist that selection, and then a way to manage muiltiple selections. Sounds like a ton of work.

Post Reply