It is currently January 18th, 2018, 5:51 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Compound selections
PostPosted: August 5th, 2012, 4:50 pm 
User avatar

Joined: October 20th, 2011, 9:20 am
Posts: 220
Location: Subnet
It might be nice to be able to do compound selections, instead of a single rectangle.

You'd make several sets of marks after which the requested command is applied to all selected blocks. So with /Cuboid you would make a few rectangles and with /Triangle a number of triangles. The important distinction is that overlapping parts in selections are processed only once by the command.

On the command syntax I have no spectacular ideas yet, though that shouldn't be a reason to reject the idea itself.

Show
Yes I know there are several ways of repeating commands or further specify the affected blocks.

Often, area seems much easier to handle than blocktypes.

_________________
A = {x ∈ P(U) | x ∉ x}

Show
Mods:
  1. /Su - Allows players to temporarily become a different rank
  2. /Snap - Like /Line but only draws straight or diagonal lines.
  3. pre-0.630 skip/none block


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Compound selections
PostPosted: August 9th, 2012, 2:40 am 
User avatar

Joined: May 28th, 2012, 12:03 am
Posts: 25
This could be possible with a datalist.

[Area1, Area2, Area3...]

when doing an action.

Do Area1: DoAction;

Do Area2: If position not in Area1: DoAction;

Do Area3: If position not in Area2 or Area1: DoAction;...

Alas, I think the selected area would NOT be a data list atm. Would be a hard change.

_________________
=== MeinKraft 24/7 ===
Server Owner & Code Developer


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Compound selections
PostPosted: August 12th, 2012, 6:20 am 
fCraft Developer
User avatar

Joined: May 21st, 2011, 10:53 pm
Posts: 1386
Sounds tricky to do because, well, in fCraft you type in a command first and THEN do a selection.

I guess the first step to implementing this would be to add ability to make a selection BEFORE issuing a command, then a way to persist that selection, and then a way to manage muiltiple selections. Sounds like a ton of work.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net