It is currently July 22nd, 2018, 2:37 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 168 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 4:14 am 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:37 am
Posts: 329
Location: Sealand
Since there seems to be no love for technology as of yet, I'll start off this board with a PC topic. Describe your computers!

Mine:

Motherboard: ASUS M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
GPU: 2 x GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI GeForce GTX 460 1GB (in dual SLI)
RAM: 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two
OS: Windows 7 Proffesional x64

The AMD CPU / NVIDIA GPU combination is kind of weird, but it works well :)

_________________
<CMB> KingCrab72: Some mixture and contrast would be nice tbh Ollie
<Ollieboy> Some mixture and contrast of your face on my penis would also be nice


Last edited by Allie on May 27th, 2011, 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 4:35 am 
Owner
User avatar

Joined: May 21st, 2011, 10:51 pm
Posts: 604
http://usa.asus.com/Notebooks/Gaming_Po ... ifications

Really in love with this machine, and its powerful enough that it should last me quite a while. This may be the first laptop I've had that I can comfortably run into the ground without upgrading first.

My major complaint is the keyboard backlight. Its more trouble than its worth.

_________________
The first law of thermodynamics states that you don't discuss thermodynamics.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 5:02 am 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:34 am
Posts: 142
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Motherboard: MSI X58A-GD45
CPU: Intel Core i7 950 w/ Cooler Master Hyper 212+
GPU: AMD Radeon HD6950
RAM: 6GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333
HDD: Some Random 500GB a friend gave me.
PSU: OCZ StealthX Stream 700W
Case: cooler Master Elite 430
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
Others: TEAC Multi-Card Reader

_________________
I'll go where ever my mind takes me.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 5:31 am 
OP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 12:29 am
Posts: 69
Location: Melbourne, Australia
My Desktop:

Motherboard: ASUS GA-EX58-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 920, 2.67GHz
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX260
RAM: 8GB Kingston DDR3 1333
HDD: 750GB Western Digital (Caviar Green)
PSU: Master 650WT
Case: El'Cheapo Multimedia Black Case
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

My Laptop:

Motherboard: Fucked If I Know.....
CPU: Intel Core i7 2630QM
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M
RAM: 4GB DDR3 1333MHz
HDD: 750GB 7200rpm
PSU: (Battery) 6Cells, 4400 mAh
Case: Sexy Aluminium Finish
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

http://www.asus.com.au/Notebooks/Multim ... /#overview

_________________
I'm Rick James, Bitch!

Cocaine's A Hell Of A Drug


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 8:04 am 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm
Posts: 1766
Location: Leiden, Zuid Holland
Thanks for making this topic. My current pc is dying, so I'm going to put a new one together. I'm not at all technical however, and could use some input. I'm not much of an avid computer gamer, so my budget would be around 700 euros. This is what I was thinking of:

-AMD X4 955 3.2 GHz
-60GB SSD
-1TB
-Radeon HD 6850 1GB
-500W, or 600.
-2x2Gb DDR3, plus the 2 I have already
-ASUS M4A79XTD EVO/USB3

Any thoughts? Do I even have everything?

_________________
Ferrisbuler2: i will stay but i might not post cus of ollieboy


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 10:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:37 am
Posts: 329
Location: Sealand
Sanjar Khan wrote:
Thanks for making this topic. My current pc is dying, so I'm going to put a new one together. I'm not at all technical however, and could use some input. I'm not much of an avid computer gamer, so my budget would be around 700 euros. This is what I was thinking of:

-AMD X4 955 3.2 GHz
-60GB SSD
-1TB
-Radeon HD 6850 1GB
-500W, or 600.
-2x2Gb DDR3, plus the 2 I have already
-ASUS M4A79XTD EVO/USB3

Any thoughts? Do I even have everything?


In addition to what you listed, you're going to need a case, cooling, and an OS (if you don't have one you can use already). You'll want to get at least a CPU cooler, and possibly some additional fans. However, most of the cases today tend to have fans built in, so you may not have to worry about that. For a case, I recommend pretty much anything from Antec or Cooler Master. Make sure you pick a suitably sized case, as well; a mid-sized tower should be fine. A 600W power supply should get you by just fine (I only went with an 850W for upgradability purposes). The motherboard you picked seems pretty decent, and I know for a fact the 6850 is a nice video card. Personally, the one thing I would change is the CPU; the 965 is only 10 euros more for an extra .2 GHz. However, that's not really a huge deal.

Hope that was at least somewhat helpful :P

_________________
<CMB> KingCrab72: Some mixture and contrast would be nice tbh Ollie
<Ollieboy> Some mixture and contrast of your face on my penis would also be nice


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 11:10 am 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 10:09 am
Posts: 208
Location: Italy.
Motherboard: ASUS P5N-E SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
GPU: NViadia GeForce 9600GT
RAM: 3GB
HDD: Western Digital 500GB
PSU: Dunno.
Case: Dunno.
OS: Windows XP Professional

_________________
* Isotope destructively nudges DreamingInsane with a new frogsleg.
tesfai10: greg79 wanna have sex


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 12:41 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm
Posts: 1766
Location: Leiden, Zuid Holland
Astelyn wrote:
Sanjar Khan wrote:
Thanks for making this topic. My current pc is dying, so I'm going to put a new one together. I'm not at all technical however, and could use some input. I'm not much of an avid computer gamer, so my budget would be around 700 euros. This is what I was thinking of:

-AMD X4 955 3.2 GHz
-60GB SSD
-1TB
-Radeon HD 6850 1GB
-500W, or 600.
-2x2Gb DDR3, plus the 2 I have already
-ASUS M4A79XTD EVO/USB3

Any thoughts? Do I even have everything?




In addition to what you listed, you're going to need a case, cooling, and an OS (if you don't have one you can use already). You'll want to get at least a CPU cooler, and possibly some additional fans. However, most of the cases today tend to have fans built in, so you may not have to worry about that. For a case, I recommend pretty much anything from Antec or Cooler Master. Make sure you pick a suitably sized case, as well; a mid-sized tower should be fine. A 600W power supply should get you by just fine (I only went with an 850W for upgradability purposes). The motherboard you picked seems pretty decent, and I know for a fact the 6850 is a nice video card. Personally, the one thing I would change is the CPU; the 965 is only 10 euros more for an extra .2 GHz. However, that's not really a huge deal.

Hope that was at least somewhat helpful :P


Forgot to mention the cooler: Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B SCMG-2100
So I just slap everything together in a Cooler Master Gladiator 600, install an OS and I'm ready to go? All I've ever done is replace single parts, not put together an entire system. Also in the description of the RAM it says "unbuffered". What does that mean?
Thanks for your help :happycreeper:

_________________
Ferrisbuler2: i will stay but i might not post cus of ollieboy


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 2:30 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:34 am
Posts: 142
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Sanjar Khan wrote:
Also in the description of the RAM it says "unbuffered". What does that mean?
You dont really have to worry about that for a desktop build. The buffered/ECC correction RAM is usually designed for server platforms.

_________________
I'll go where ever my mind takes me.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 2:49 pm 
Owner
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 12:05 am
Posts: 1301
Location: California, US
http://www.dell.com/us/dfh/p/studio-slim/pd

Yes, Shitty computer.

Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Studio 540s Slim Tower: Intel Core 2 Quad processor Q8200 (4MB L2, 2.33GHz, 1333FSB)
750 GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
8 GB DDR2 SDRAM 800MHz (4 DIMMs)
Blu-ray Disc Combo (DVD+/-RW + BD-ROM)
256MB ATI Radeon HD 3450 supporting HDMI

Some Changes:

Changed HDD to 2 TB.
All else, the same.

_________________
"Words have no power to impress the mind without the exquisite horror of their reality.."
~ Edgar Allan Poe


Last edited by DreamingInsane on May 28th, 2011, 5:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 5:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:37 am
Posts: 329
Location: Sealand
Sanjar Khan wrote:
So I just slap everything together in a Cooler Master Gladiator 600, install an OS and I'm ready to go?


For the most part, yes. There are a few tricky parts; installing the cooler can be a bit difficult, along with spreading the thermal paste correctly. Cable management can be challenging too. Having cables all over the place can disrupt air flow, and ultimately raise the temperatures of your machine. Be sure to have some zip-ties with you. Also, you should be aware of safety precautions (for your hardware, not for you :P). You'll want to build the computer in an environment that isn't very dry and doesn't contain a lot of carpet and/or static-y things, and you'll also want to wear clothes without a lot of static as well. You should ground yourself every so often (this can usually be done by touching the inside of your case -- the non-painted part) to avoid frying your parts with static electricity. Obviously, having liquids nearby wouldn't be smart either.

But, other than that, it's basically all plug-and-play :)

_________________
<CMB> KingCrab72: Some mixture and contrast would be nice tbh Ollie
<Ollieboy> Some mixture and contrast of your face on my penis would also be nice


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 5:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 4:42 pm
Posts: 1058
Bow down at my laptop's almighty power!

Crab's Laptop Specs

_________________
<+FCB1> 05+Pemalite: all the fcraft chicks reject me except element

13:04 + FCB2 │ +Pemalite: craaaaab
13:04 + FCB1 │ +Pemalite: no
13:04 + FCB1 │ +Pemalite: ill give yout the best loving ou ever ad crab


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 27th, 2011, 5:45 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm
Posts: 1766
Location: Leiden, Zuid Holland
Astelyn wrote:
Sanjar Khan wrote:
So I just slap everything together in a Cooler Master Gladiator 600, install an OS and I'm ready to go?


For the most part, yes. There are a few tricky parts; installing the cooler can be a bit difficult, along with spreading the thermal paste correctly. Cable management can be challenging too. Having cables all over the place can disrupt air flow, and ultimately raise the temperatures of your machine. Be sure to have some zip-ties with you. Also, you should be aware of safety precautions (for your hardware, not for you :P). You'll want to build the computer in an environment that isn't very dry and doesn't contain a lot of carpet and/or static-y things, and you'll also want to wear clothes without a lot of static as well. You should ground yourself every so often (this can usually be done by touching the inside of your case -- the non-painted part) to avoid frying your parts with static electricity. Obviously, having liquids nearby wouldn't be smart either.

But, other than that, it's basically all plug-and-play :)


Thanks for all the advice :happycreeper: I'll wear dispensable rubber gloves we use to clean the showers.

_________________
Ferrisbuler2: i will stay but i might not post cus of ollieboy


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 28th, 2011, 3:03 am 
fCraft Developer
User avatar

Joined: May 21st, 2011, 10:53 pm
Posts: 1386
I looove AMD/nVidia combination. The best of both worlds.

I am currently sporting:

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 @3.50 GHz
GPU: EVGA 8800 GTS 320mb
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL DDR3 1600
Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
Keyboard: IBM Model M <3

The rest of the system is cheap & generic.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 28th, 2011, 3:49 am 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 12:08 am
Posts: 115
Location: potato
Motherboard: ASUS P5QL Pro
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz
GPU: NVIDIA Geforce GTX 260
RAM: 4.0 GB, duno the brand
HDD: Velociraptor WD3000HLFS
PSU: dunno
Case: dunno
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

meh, I need more RAM :P


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 28th, 2011, 4:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:37 am
Posts: 329
Location: Sealand
fragmer wrote:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 @3.50 GHz


I had mine running at a solid 4 GHz for a while, but I had some serious cooling issues...opted to just set it back to 3.4 GHz until I splurge for liquid cooling someday.

fragmer wrote:
Keyboard: IBM Model M <3


:D

_________________
<CMB> KingCrab72: Some mixture and contrast would be nice tbh Ollie
<Ollieboy> Some mixture and contrast of your face on my penis would also be nice


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 30th, 2011, 1:06 pm 
User avatar

Joined: May 29th, 2011, 8:12 am
Posts: 74
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
All of your computers make me sad ;(

M720-US3
AMD Athlon II x2 250 @ 3.00GHZ (Not overclocked, but want to)
4GB DDR2 (Mixtures of Kingston and china-shite)
1TB WD Caviar Green HDD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 SE (1GB total:3GB)
Realtek Gigacrap
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

I was running Ubuntu 10.10 for a while but it till isn't ready for mainstream use. When more than 20% of developers support it I will start using it again, although unity alone almost considered me to turn back to the community of basement crawlers.

I push a gigabit router too... And I have a Cisco catalyst 6000 series which currently acts as a table. I have about 150 10/100 ethernet ports in that thing along with a fiber equipped supervisory module. Can't wait to fire it up one day. I also have some laptops not worthy of mention.

I'm off to overclock now.

_________________
"Excuse me, have you got a spare $10?".... Yeah I do. So would you if you had a job.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 30th, 2011, 4:39 pm 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 27th, 2011, 7:09 pm
Posts: 33
The only thing I can think of when talking about battlestations:

http://i.imgur.com/RqeX0.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/78VNm.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/9YSBt.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/vtkhW.jpg


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 30th, 2011, 11:20 pm 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 12:08 am
Posts: 115
Location: potato
Stop_Sign wrote:



WAT.

I just...

... :o


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 2:46 am 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:02 am
Posts: 250
Location: California, US
xKoreaNx wrote:
Stop_Sign wrote:



WAT.

I just...

... :o


Table dance.

_________________
piss 2017


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:24 pm 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 2:23 am
Posts: 310
Location: US
dell precision 4500 lappy
intel core i7 x920 @ 2ghz
8gb ram
64 bit win 7

i mainly use it for flash animation and after effects editing but it seems to handle MC 'ok' although i'd love to be able to not lag with fog turned off on a fully griefed main.

:)

_________________
***** This user has left the building. *****


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:26 pm 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 2:23 am
Posts: 310
Location: US
Sanjar Khan wrote:
Thanks for all the advice :happycreeper: I'll wear dispensable rubber gloves we use to clean the showers.


you might need to lose the pink pants as well. those things can be pretty staticky.

_________________
***** This user has left the building. *****


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:31 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm
Posts: 1766
Location: Leiden, Zuid Holland
I'll just dye my legs then

_________________
Ferrisbuler2: i will stay but i might not post cus of ollieboy


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:37 pm 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:38 am
Posts: 49
Okay... I was just going to make a post, but this... Whatever.


Got quite old setup. Most parts being from Fall 2007 and GPU a year later. Been buying new hard drives along the way though... And a new power supply. Planning to new components during the summer.

Asus P5K
Q6600 B3 @ 3.0GHz
Gigabyte GTX260 OC
A-Data 4GB DDR2 @ 1024 MHz
Zalman 750W
Western Digital 1,5TB Green (for anime)
Western Digital 1TB (for OS etc)
2x Samsung 500GB in RAID0 (Games & Program Files)
Windows 7 Pro 64bit SP1

OS would be in the raid setup too, but due to motherboard lacking the feature, I was forced to do a software raid... Which can be done once Windows is installed.

My computer case is old as hell, but Im quite fond of it...
The screen, keyboard and headphones have all failed me. The case hasn't.
Image

_________________
<+FBB2_> Thimerit: There is actually a real dankirk? lol

<+FBB2_> dan9201: Does anyone else think Dankirk may possibly be....
<+FBB2_> dan9201: GOD?


Last edited by Dankirk on May 31st, 2011, 4:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:41 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:34 am
Posts: 142
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
I like your Sasami on your case's side. Where did you get it from?

_________________
I'll go where ever my mind takes me.


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:42 pm 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm
Posts: 1766
Location: Leiden, Zuid Holland
Warcraft?

_________________
Ferrisbuler2: i will stay but i might not post cus of ollieboy


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: May 31st, 2011, 3:50 pm 
SupOP
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:38 am
Posts: 49
Sister painted it.
And yeah, that's Warcraft. Dota was the hot stuff back then.

_________________
<+FBB2_> Thimerit: There is actually a real dankirk? lol

<+FBB2_> dan9201: Does anyone else think Dankirk may possibly be....
<+FBB2_> dan9201: GOD?


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: June 1st, 2011, 10:03 am 
OP

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 8:41 am
Posts: 3
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Hard Drive: 1 TB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Sound Card: Speakers (VIA High Definition Audio)
Speakers/Headphones: Logitech
Keyboard: USB Root Hub
Mouse: USB Root Hub
Mouse Surface: Scratched Wood
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: June 1st, 2011, 10:32 am 
Trustee
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 5:51 am
Posts: 1148
Processor: Intel I7
Memory: 6 Gigs (had 12 but some sims are corrupt :( )
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4
Hard Drive: 2 TB + 120GB SSD (+ 2 TB on network a MyBook world)
Video Card: 3x Sapphire HD 4850 1GB GDDR3 PCI-E
Monitor: Samsung 42" TV
Sound Card: Onboard
Speakers/Headphones: Logitech Z-5500, and Logitech gaming headset
Keyboard: Logitech G15
Mouse: Logitech Gaming mouse
Mouse Surface: my bench
Operating System: Windows Vista Pro 64-bit / Slackware Linux

_________________
McLaughlinKid wrote:
You put roar on everything don't you?


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Battle Stations.
PostPosted: June 3rd, 2011, 3:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: May 24th, 2011, 1:37 am
Posts: 329
Location: Sealand
My newest (or oldest?) addition to my setup:

Image

Thanks fragmer, for putting the idea of purchasing this into my head :3

_________________
<CMB> KingCrab72: Some mixture and contrast would be nice tbh Ollie
<Ollieboy> Some mixture and contrast of your face on my penis would also be nice


Top
Offline Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 168 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net